The awards proper will take place on 6 November at the Convention Centre of the Eko Hotels & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos. It will be hosted by Bonang Matheba (South Africa), Ahmed Soultan (Morocco), and Ika Jang (Congo).

The hosts were chosen to reflect languages spoken across the continent (English, Arabic, and French). The red carpet for the event will be hosted by Denrele Edun, Hauwa Allahbura, Denola Grey, and Pam Happi.

Along with the award presentation, the ceremony will feature musical tributes in honour of Manu Dibango, King Sunny Ade and the late Papa Wemba.